Football vs. Colorado State

The Southeastern Conference announced the decision to cancel all non-conference football games in favor of a 10-game, conference-only season Thursday afternoon.

The 14 SEC presidents met virtually and made the decision to put the proposal in full effect in light of the COVID-19 pandemic.

It is still to be determined on how the SEC will fill out the other two games of its conference only-schedule. League members usually play eight conference games each season: six inside their own division, one permanent cross-division opponent and one rotational cross-division opponent.

The SEC Championship Game in Atlanta will also be pushed back to Saturday, Dec. 19.

The SEC joins the Big Ten and Pac-12 by deciding on playing a conference-only schedule for 2020. The Atlantic Coast Conference announced Wednesday that it will play an 11-game season with 10 interleague matchups and one non-conference game. The Notre Dame Fighting Irish will join the ACC for this season.

Because of the move, ACC-SEC rivalry games like South Carolina-Clemson, Florida-Florida State, Georgia-Georgia Tech and Kentucky-Louisville are canceled. It will also cancel the matchup between the Arkansas Razorbacks and Notre Dame, which was supposed to take place on Sept. 12.

Games are scheduled to start Sept. 26.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.