Moody Courtesy

Freshman guard Moses Moody celebrates a basket during the Razorbacks’ 86-81 win over Missouri. Moody was selected 14th overall by the Golden State Warriors in the 2021 NBA Draft.

The Southeastern Conference announced its basketball postseason awards Tuesday morning, and two players from the No. 8 Razorbacks (21-5, 13-4 SEC) earned a spot among the top players in the conference. 

Guard Moses Moody was named SEC Freshman of the Year and landed on the First Team All-SEC, as well as the All-Freshman team. Junior guard JD Notae was tabbed as the SEC Sixth Man of the Year.  The awards are voted on by the coaches.

Both players produced massively for the Hogs, who ended the regular season on an 11-game conference winning streak. Arkansas defeated its last five opponents by an average margin of 13.6 points with Moody and Notae were big reasons why.

Moody led the team in scoring virtually all season long. A couple of 28-point outings in the team’s final two games boosted the guard to a clip of 17.5 points per game on the year. He was second on the team in rebounds per game with 5.7, and shot a team-high 38.6% from three.

Moody was named SEC Freshman on the Week on three separate occasions this year, including this Monday. 

“He’s on one of the two best teams in the league,” Arkansas head coach Eric Musselman said after the final regular season game against Texas A&M. “I think he’s continued to get better all season long. He’s one of the best three point shooters in college basketball...He’s a go-to player on one of the two best teams in the league.”

Notae, who was named Bleacher Report’s National Sixth Man of the Year, came in at second on the squad with 12.9 points per game on the season. Though it seemed like the Jacksonville transfer was always on the court for the Hogs, he only started one of the team's 26 games.

Per 40 minutes of play, Notae averaged 23.1 points, 5.7 rebounds and 3.5 assists. He scored 18-plus points on nine separate occasions coming off the bench for the Hogs. He was always a threat from downtown and found ways to create shot attempts in any situation. 

“We know he’s a great creator at scoring on his own and at least getting shot attempts on his own,” Musselman said after Notae scored 21 points at South Carolina. “We wanted him to become more of a point guard and I think you’re seeing that evolve.”

No other Razorbacks were chosen for any postseason honors. Musselman was beat out by Alabama head coach Nate Oats for SEC Coach of the Year. Moody was beat out by the Crimson Tide’s Herb Jones for SEC Player of the Year. 

Graduate transfers Justin Smith and Jalen Tate deserve an honorable mention. Smith scored 12.5 points per game and was No. 2 in the SEC in shooting percentage, checking in at 53%, and he led the team with 6.8 rebounds per game. Tate came in at No. 3 in the conference with four assists per game and he scored 10.9 points per game while shooting 50.7% from the field.

The Arkansas Razorbacks will face the winner of Thursday’s matchup between Georgia and Missouri in the SEC Tournament. The game will tip off Friday at 6 p.m. in Nashville and will be broadcast on the SEC Network.


(Per the SEC) A complete list of the 2021 SEC Men's Basketball postseason awards follows:

First Team All-SEC

Herbert Jones, Alabama

John Petty Jr., Alabama

Moses Moody, Arkansas

Tre Mann, Florida

Cameron Thomas, LSU

Devontae Shuler, Ole Miss

Dru Smith, Missouri

Scotty Pippen Jr., Vanderbilt


Second Team All-SEC

Jaden Shackelford, Alabama

Colin Castleton, Florida

Sahvir Wheeler, Georgia

Javonte Smart, LSU

Trendon Watford, LSU

D.J. Stewart Jr., Mississippi State

Jeremiah Tilmon, Missouri

AJ Lawson, South Carolina


All-Freshman Team

Joshua Primo, Alabama

Moses Moody, Arkansas

Sharife Cooper, Auburn

KD Johnson, Georgia

Isaiah Jackson, Kentucky

Cameron Thomas, LSU

Keon Johnson, Tennessee

Jaden Springer, Tennessee


All-Defensive Team

Herbert Jones, Alabama

Isaiah Jackson, Kentucky

Abdul Ado, Mississippi State

Dru Smith, Missouri

Yves Pons, Tennessee


Coach of the Year: Nate Oats, Alabama

Player of the Year: Herbert Jones, Alabama

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Dylan Disu, Vanderbilt

Freshman of the Year: Moses Moody, Arkansas

Sixth-Man of the Year: JD Notae, Arkansas

Defensive Player of the Year: Herbert Jones, Alabama


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.