Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.

Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Capture SEC Title

  • 0

The men’s and women’s cross country teams won the 2015 Southeastern Conference Cross Country Championships after outrunning the competition Friday.



The men’s team, which is ranked No. 8 in the country, dominated the rest of the SEC in the race at the Dale Watts Cross Country Course in College Station, Texas. The Razorbacks started the race in the lead and finished just 10 points shy of a perfect score. This year’s conference title marks the sixth straight SEC championship for Razorback head coach Chris Bucknam.

 Redshirt junior Christian Heymsfield was the star runner for the Razorbacks, and he finished the race with a second-place finish. Heymsfield set a personal best in the race with an impressive time of 23:25.

The junior was not the only Hog to set a personal record. Junior Frankline Tonui recorded a 23:35 time in his third-place finish, and sophomore Alex George placed fifth with a time of 23:36.

 Three other Razorback runners, Austen Dalquist, Gabe Gonzalez and Jack Bruce, finished in the top 10 and added to Arkansas’ impressive victory. Dalquist finished in sixth place just milliseconds behind George, Gonzalez captured ninth place with a time of 23:47 and Bruce slipped in at 10th place with a time of 23:49.

 Four Razorbacks, Heymsfield, Tonui, George and Dalquist, earned first-team All-SEC honors. Gonzalez and Bruce earned second-team All-SEC honors, and Cameron Griffith was awarded a spot on the SEC All-Freshman Team.



The No. 4 women’s cross country team achieved the same feat in College Station behind two-time All-American, Dominique Scott. This year’s championship raises the number of conference titles to 16 since the university joined the SEC in 1991.

 Scott, who is known as one of the top collegiate runners in the country, captured her third straight individual victory. This placed Scott in some elite company. Only two other SEC cross country runners have won three consecutive individual victories. The redshirt senior ran the 6K with a time of 19:23, which was one second short of her personal best.

Redshirt senior Kaitlin Flattmann finished sixth overall with a personal record of 20 minutes. Freshman Devin Clark looked like a seasoned veteran, and she placed eighth with an impressive 20:12 finish.

 Junior runners Valerie Reina and Regan Ward finished 11th and 12th, respectively, for the Razorbacks. Reina finished with a time of 20:20, and Ward followed closely behind with a time of 20:21.

 Scott and Flattmann performed well enough to earn first-team All-SEC honors, and four Razorbacks ran their way to a second-team All-SEC selection. Clark, Reina and Ward were among UA runners who earned the placement, and they were joined by sophomore Kelsey Schrader, who finished in 13th place with a time of 20:21, just milliseconds behind Ward. Clark and freshman runner Sydney Brown earned a spot on the SEC All-Freshman Team.

 The Razorback men’s and women’s cross country teams will look to defend their titles in two weeks when they return to College Station for the NCAA South Central Region Championships. The events will take place Nov. 13.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.